Lok Sabha polls 2019: TMC forms 12-member committee for election campaign in West Bengal

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) has formed a 12-member committee Sunday to chart modalities on the election campaign in West Bengal for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the party’s secretary general Partha Chatterjee said.

Mr Chatterjee told news reporters that the committee would look into the applications by aspiring candidates to fight the elections and forward those to the party’s supremo Mamata Banerjee.

The 12-member committee comprises Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and lawmaker Abhishek Banerjee, Subrata Bakshi, Firhad Hakim, Arup Biswas, Suvendu Adhikari, Chandrima Bhattacharya, Sashi Panja, Moloy Ghatak, Jyotipriyo Mallick, Subrata Mukherjee, Derek O’Brien and Partha Chatterjee.

Mr Chatterjee said, “The committee will look into election-related publicity and screening of applications of aspiring candidates in consultation with party supremo Mamata Banerjee.”

While Abhishek Banerjee and O’Brien are Lok Sabha MPs, the other 10 members of the committee are ministers in the state cabinet.

Out of 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal, TMC won 34 seats, the Congress got four and the BJP and CPI(M) won two each in the 2014 general elections.

Author: ElectionAdda