Maharashtra govt seeks exemption for three IPS officers from Election Commission circular

The Maharashtra government has sought an exemption for three IPS officers from an Election Commission (EC) rule so that they can continue in Mumbai for law and order purposes during the elections.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis also hasn’t cleared promotions in the IPS to maintain the status quo until the elections.

An EC circular dated January 16 says “no officer connected directly with the elections shall be allowed to continue in the present district of posting (a) if he/she is posted in his/her home district or (b) if he/she has completed three years in that district during last four years or would be completing three years on or before May 31, 2019.”

Joint Commissioner, Law and Order, Deven Bharti, was appointed on April 15, 2015. The EC circular applied to him.

The state home department also sought exemptions for Pravin Padwal, Additional Commissioner, South Region, and Ravindra Shisve of Central Region. Shisve was earlier in the Special Branch and has been in Mumbai for a long time.

An EC officer said, “The home department has maintained that they want these three officers for law and order purposes during elections. We were busy with the visit of EC commissioners to Maharashtra. Now we will process this file and send it to the Central Election Commission in Delhi and they will take a final call.”

Maharashtra, though, will get a new director general of police as the incumbent, D D Padsalgikar, is retiring.

Centre rejected his extension. Mumbai Police Commissioner Subodh Jaiswal will be the new DG once the Union Public Service Commission and then the CM clear his name. Thereafter, Mumbai will get a new commissioner.

IPS officers Parambir Singh, Sanjay Barve and Rashmi Shukla are some of those being considered for the post. On Monday, the home department transferred several IPS officers. They were supposed to complete the transfers by February 20 and give a compliance report to the EC by February 25.

Author: ElectionAdda